United Nations Reviews

Alle 417 reviews worden getoond
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Challenging Assignments
Finance Officer/ERP Process Expert (huidige medewerker) –  New York, NY11 december 2017
I have always been proud of working for the United Nations and following its main core values: integrity, professionalism, and respect for diversity.

I have been fortunate, throughout my years of experience with the UN, performing different functions: a) from Chief Budget & Finance Section for the United Nations Assistance to the Khmer Rouge Trials in Cambodia (UNAKRT), where I was responsible for daily tasks such as managing the allocated resources, redeployment of funds if needed, budget proposals, formulating my Section’s strategic framework, improving internal controls and managing the Finance staff’s performance, as well as clarifying financial matters to judges, lawyers, and other staff;
b) to Business Analyst/Process Expert for Umoja interacting with other entities around the world, i.e. the Information Center in Tokyo or The Regional Center in Entebbe providing guidance, support, and clarifications on their daily tasks, or performing testing on complex finance scenarios and validating the models with the process owners.

I have always been an early riser, starting very early, around 6 AM, to prepare for the day, to distribute the tasks, prioritize, respond the queries from other entities; provide production support, occasionally interact with Senior Managers to stay on track with expected objectives, etc. I would normally work 10 hours a day, but available after working hours if additional information was needed.

I have had many tough situations working with Umoja such as encountering many delays on completing the initial phases of the project due to lack
  meer... of resources, or not having any knowledge of ERP when I started with Umoja, or developing a deployment strategy and associated planning tools. There were stressful moments that needed reviews and readjustments of timelines to achieve the objectives.

But I have also had many enjoyable moments: becoming a Process Expert in Financial Accounting (AP, AR, GL), transferring knowledge/information to the user community, finalizing configuration files and all testing associated with transition to Umoja solution, or learning other cultures and languages while assigned overseas to 8 different peacekeeping/special political missions in different capacities.

I have had very good Senior Managers who provided excellent leadership. Overall, a great experience.
  minder
Pluspunten
Assigned to overseas entities within the UN organization.
Minpunten
Slow opportunities for advancement
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
productive
Technician (voormalige medewerker) –  NYC30 november 2017
The United Nations is an intergovernmental organization that is tasked to promote international cooperation and to create and maintain international order
Pluspunten
good
Minpunten
none
Was deze review nuttig?JaNee 1Rapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
UN is a great place for work
Senior Program / HR Assistant (voormalige medewerker) –  Velāyat-e Kābol27 november 2017
working with UN is everyone dream, i enjoyed worked with UN the work environment was perfect there are multi culture and different people around the globe are working in one compound but all are treated the same
Pluspunten
No free lunch
Minpunten
basd on need
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Highly enriching
Delegate social/academic development (voormalige medewerker) –  Bahrain22 november 2017
very inspiring, enriching, challenging and mind stimulating where the focus is on the greater global sustainability and development in a diverse environment.
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Enjoy my current Position
Fire Safety Director (huidige medewerker) –  New York, NY17 november 2017
Love meeting new people and Learning the new computer system. The location is the center of the city. The hardest part of my job is nothing. The most enjoyable part of my job is having a job.
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 1Nee 1Rapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Productive workplace
Maintenance Services Unit / Elevator Operator (huidige medewerker) –  New York, NY15 november 2017
Typical day at work i usually set up the necessary conference rooms for the day with pencils water and signs for the countries thats needed. Also operate the elevator during the afternoons for special events and assemblies going on in the United Nations .
Pluspunten
Meet alot of Presidents and cultures around the word
Minpunten
Work pay is not alot but i luv the environment .
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 2NeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Ok!
Data Entry agent (voormalige medewerker) –  Smithfield, NC15 november 2017
Good Job but takes up most of your time and requires a lot of data entry to do in a day they have a specific number of data entry you have to do in a day.
Pluspunten
great vacationleaves
Minpunten
too many daty entry input in a day
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 2Nee 1Rapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Great experience with a great team
Meeting Room Assignment (voormalige medewerker) –  Nordrhein-Westfalen14 november 2017
Learned a lot in a very short amount of time. Free lunch, tshirts, jackets and much more were offered to us. Although it was a voluntary work and unpaid, but I had a great time and will look forward to do it again!
Pluspunten
Free vouchers and access to all zones
Minpunten
a little bit tiring
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Great place to work.
Consultant (voormalige medewerker) –  New York, NY9 november 2017
Great place to work. Learned a lot about intergovernmental policy and the member states. Learned a lot about UN history and rules and regulations. Would recommend. .
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 2NeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
ok
Direct collaborator of the First Health Counsellor (voormalige medewerker) –  Geneva, IL9 november 2017
• Conducted budget analysis and prepared budget materials for the mental health committee.
• Conducted policy research utilizing legislative retrieval system (LSR); wrote support and sponsor memos;
• Drafted new bills and followed them through the committee process, gathering support from members and interest groups;
• Discussed policy reforms and legislation with health care providers in New York State, advocacy groups, and lobbyists;
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 2NeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Unpaid internships are what you make of them
Communications and Media Intern (voormalige medewerker) –  New York, NY7 november 2017
If you can afford to live in or around New York for free (i.e. if your family lives there) then I'd recommend a UN internship if you find one that aligns well with your interests. Otherwise, I would not.
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 1NeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Great place to learn and develop
IT Intern (voormalige medewerker) –  New York, NY2 november 2017
I gained valuable professional experience in data profiling and data modelling during my summer internship at United Nations. In this capacity, I developed the skills of effective analysis and research by identifying potential solutions for effective data cleansing.
Was deze review nuttig?Ja 2NeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
It was an eye-opening experience.
Indigenous Peoples Intern (voormalige medewerker) –  New York, NY2 november 2017
My internship at the United Nations was a fantastic way to see the inner workings of the United Nations (even though the internship itself was only for two weeks).
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Very nice and recommended for any one who want to make a difference
System Engineer (voormalige medewerker) –  Ethiopia1 november 2017
Very nice and recommended for anyone who wants to make a difference. Especially for technology, it is more recommended because UN uses most of the time New technology equipment and methodology.
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Intercambio cultural en su máxima expresión
SAP Transportation Manager lead consultant (huidige medewerker) –  Nueva York, Estados Unidos de Norteamérica31 oktober 2017
La diversidad cutural y religiosa es una de las características definitorias de las Naciones Unidas a la hora del trabajo diario. No existe lugar en el mundo donde se pueda experiementar ese ámbito de oficina que se observa en la ONU.
A pesar de ello, y de la apertura que reina, resulta muy arduo el cambio del status quo en una organización acostumbrada a un verticalismo histórico.
Sin embargo, la misión primordial de la Organización, en el apoyo a la consolidación de la paz, fomento de la construcción de los estados soberanos y el desarrollo socio-económico a largo plazo, evita cualquier tipo de disputa y orienta en camino en las tareas diarias.
Pluspunten
Diversidad cultural, experiencia en diversos terrenos de conflicto, situación geopolítica.
Minpunten
No hay trabajo remoto, locación muy costosa para radicación (NY), reticencia al cambio, verticalismo fuerte en la toma de decisiones
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Unifil 1
Taisteluvälinealiupseeri (voormalige medewerker) –  Libanon31 oktober 2017
Rauhanturvaajan operatiiviset tehtät. Taisteluvälinealiupseeri, varastointi, huolto , koulutus.
Pluspunten
Ihmisten auttaminen ja heidän elinolosuhteiden turvaaminen.
Minpunten
Ihmisten kärsimys.
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Excellent working environment
Temporary Finance Assistant (voormalige medewerker) –  Kingston, Jamaica31 oktober 2017
The United Nations was the most efficient organization I have worked with to date. I found their organization structure, policies, and processes very effective in not only accomplishing the daily task but making them flow smoothly. I found the environment stress free and comfortable even though the work was always plenty.
Given the opportunity, I would love to work with any arm of this organization full time in the future.
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
none
IT Engineer/Projects Coordinator (voormalige medewerker) –  Amman, Jordan30 oktober 2017
most like boring and repetitive. since its more dependent over the donators of other countries, the resources are changing accordingly. also most likely that top management is well aware about the facts on the ground.
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
United Nations Climate Chance Commission
Press Conference Assistant during the COP22 (voormalige medewerker) –  Préfecture de Marrakech30 oktober 2017
Press Conference Assistant during the COP22 (United Nations) – Managed a Press conference room (Work
Supervised by the Secretariat of the United Nations for Climate Change).
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren
Werk-Privé Balans
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
Management
Bedrijfscultuur
Relaxed, mutli cultural, fun and professional
Administrative/Billing Assistant (voormalige medewerker) –  Velāyat-e Kābol27 oktober 2017
Its a great org to work with or for. very friendly environment. over sea assignment. room for improvement and promotions. get to work with diplomats and professionals. Its like a school
Was deze review nuttig?JaNeeRapporteren

Algehele waardering

4,4
Gebaseerd op 417 reviews
5 sterren
4 sterren
3 sterren
2 sterren
1 ster

Waarderingen op categorie

Werk-Privé Balans
4,2
Compensatie/Arbeidsvoorwaarden
4,0
Doorgroeimogelijkheden
3,9
Management
4,1
Bedrijfscultuur
4,3