United States Postal Service Employee Reviews for Mail Carrier

Found 7.135 reviews matching the search See all 22.809 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GA22 October 2019
Management yells and screams.
You have to be quick or you will get in trouble.
They expect perfection and when you don't perform well you get treated like trash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst agency ever
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fall River, MA22 October 2019
The job itself isn’t that bad, but management sets unrealistic expectations hard work is rewarded with more work and don’t get sick or injured, because they will separate you from service (Fire you). I became ill with gout from bad protein supplements, couldn’t walk. My physician excused me until it was cleared, I was fired the day I returned. If you’re desperate, go for it. If you have a degree or straws do not apply
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you fit through walking daily
Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WA22 October 2019
Walking delivery routes can be difficult, but once you have it, it becomes easy. The Post office is a great place to learn a new trade. Sorting mail is difficult at first, but it comes after a while. Management will try to give you more than you can handle in order to push you to excel. Customers are incredibly nice and accommodating.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours and physically hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be an relaxed peaceful place to work
City Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Stuttgart, AR22 October 2019
Some work days are better than others, but overall it's not that bad. I have learned at this job not to trust your leaders. The management is confusing and seems as if they don't know whats going on and not doing the routes correctly. The workplace has many rules and regulations some offices have alot of messy people but you're there to do your work and not get involved in anything they have going on. The hardest part of the job is the time when the routes are not counted right and working in the heat. I enjoy the job because you're out there working by yourself and meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very physically demading job and you will be out doors for most of it
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roslyn Heights, NY22 October 2019
this is a very physical demanding job where you are required to be out side walking for about six hours every day no matter the weather condition. you are also required to lift and carry up to 70lbs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s not what you think.
City Letter Carrier/Sales, Services & Distribution Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA22 October 2019
I recently retired after 23 years of service. I first started in the early 1990’s. It was a fun, high energy and family oriented place to work. It all changed in the early 2000’s. It became very high stressed and life-sucking organization. We were micromanaged where we often had 3+ immediate supervisors and constantly reprimanded.
Pros
Job Security and Pension
Cons
Employees are not valued.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH21 October 2019
If you like getting yelled at Every day and chewed out by supervisors that nit pick even a saint to death. Then this is the job for you. Its very rare to find s supervisor that acts normal and doesn't chew you out Every day for just doing your job. This job has done nothing but stress me out and literally dread going to work each day . supervisors think u are a robot and not human and that's sad. Sick of being chewed out every day and ready to find a different job. If you go over your 8 hrs a day look out. Even if its just a few minutes. You are punished and chewed out for there being tons of mail and it taking a few extra minutes to deliver. Supervisors do not really talk to one another when it comes to what they tell you to do. Up I just get chewed out for doing what one supervisor tells you to do and a different one had a different idea for you to Some thing else. Bottom line chaos stress and you can never do anything right in their book. Can't wait to find a job where I'm happy to work at not stressed out and chewed out every day. Oh and no one gives you a straight honest answer about anything. It depends on who u ask and what mood they are in on the answer you will get. U have to have the union to defend u for just doing your job in a normal fashion cause some supervisors dream up stuff and go looking for anything and everything to try to get you into trouble just cause their I'm a bad mood
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything and then some
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carrier
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Northport, NY21 October 2019
Organizing and delivering mail on a daily basis with sufficient for work. Unfortunately no benefits long hours and low pay wasn't sufficient as a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work usps menifee sun city ca
Carrier (Former Employee) –  Menifee, CA21 October 2019
Worse job ever,managers ignore when you are bullied,it’s all about the regular employees who have been there longer new comers are treated like sh@t, took 3 months to get my last check after being let go If they put you on the route I think 55 near homeland and hemet they plan on letting you go there setting you up to fail,
Also watch out for route 19 that old bag is a bi@ch
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day Working
City Carrier Assistant (CCA) (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NC21 October 2019
Get To work get all mail and parcels to get ready for the day of work, Also you have a certain time frame to have all mail done, the hardest part about the work is mostly the climate
Pros
Your Working Independent
Cons
Short Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Postal Carrier (Former Employee) –  Spring, TX21 October 2019
When I first started, it was ok. When management switched up that's when things got a little shaky. The pay was for sure EXCELLENT but be prepared to not have much free time or days off for a while.Sometimes I felt my supervisors put the mail before the employees. It's a lot to deal with in the beginning but if you can get through, you'll be ok.
Pros
Lots of hours, great pay, good benefits
Cons
terrible managment, terrible work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt for me
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Rockville Centre, NY21 October 2019
I really hate this job it was very hard and the pay sucks, not a good job for single parent. the benefits are very expensive and management don't care for the well being of the carriers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Toxic Work Environment
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Avon, OH21 October 2019
The only thing good is the pay. This is a highly toxic work environment consisting of underqualified, unprofessional management promoted solely based on seniority and minority status. Until you become a "career" employee, they think they own you and can make you work whenever they want. There is nothing "sacred" about a day off. Never was I asked to come in to help, I was told to come in. One time I came in on my "day off" with the understanding that they would let me leave for a scheduled doctor's appointment and come back and then got "shunned" because it took too long. If you need the money, go for it, but you can do better!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress productivity
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  10905 Patterson Ave., Richmond Va 2323821 October 2019
The Postal Service is all Business. I learned how to focus. Speed, accuracy, attention to detail and projected time is very important. Organizing your work load, for delivery, weather conditions and your speed makes for an interesting day. Moneys that can be made, at the Post Office can take presidence over work reguirement.
Pros
Make Big money
Cons
Very Hard Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced good pay
Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Newton, IA21 October 2019
Fast paced, good pay, good benefits, great manager, minimal supervision, great people to work with, several paid holidays, overtime pay, great career oppurtunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job
Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Accokeek, MD21 October 2019
Management is TRASH Here!!! They Let Regulars Get Away With Everything Including Letting Regulars Harass Part Time Carries. They Let Carriers Vandalize Other Property An Do Nothing About It And Let Regulars Hide Mail An Still Let Them Keep They Job
Pros
None
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Mail Carrier (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJ20 October 2019
They don’t care about employees . They only care about getting the mail out everyday sometimes disregarding the safety of their employees .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, but boring work
Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  South Berwick, ME20 October 2019
If you like routine, good. But if you want some variety, probably not a good choice. The job gets stultifying quickly. And December is not easy, especially when it's snowing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waco, TX20 October 2019
Be careful what you ask for! I was going thinking that this would be the last job I would ever have, but I was wrong. Word of advice it's beneficial to be a resident of the city that you are delivering in. Since you basically are on a temp-to-hire basis you will be asked to work at other post offices and magically know there routes. You will be asked to work 6 days a week. Having a manger that understands how long the route is really suppose to take and not what a print out says is vitally important. You will some station managers that will not like you for some odd reason, while the ha ha and ke ke with who they want while treating you like a red headed step child. It can take up to 1.5 to 2 years to become a regular and it will take you about 90 working days to get a uniform, but you must keep up with that number yourself because they don't.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Stress, weather, stray dogs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible hours great pay
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pueblo, CO20 October 2019
Over time at 40 hours
Double time at 60 hours
You will be in double time by the time you clock out on most Tuesdays
One to 2 days off per month and you will find out that your off around 730 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,5
Based on 22.809 reviews
57K
45,7K
35,2K
22,2K
12,6K

Ratings by category

3,1Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
2,9Management
3,2Culture